FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-06-05 - 12:03 a.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart's Club Band", Beatles


Hi, everybody. I'm up in NJ right now. My grandfather is not doing well at all. Basically no one thinks he has much time left.

It sucks. Not so much because I'm going to lose him -- in most ways I've lost him already -- but because he's suffering. I keep worrying about him. I hope he's comfortable. They're giving him morphine but he's having problems with fluid in his lungs and he's worrying about himself. He's so weak he can't really move anymore.

It just fucking sucks.

Is there anything worse than watching a loved one suffer? I don't think there is. Aside from holding his hand and feeding him ice chips, I'm completely helpless. There's nothing I can do except be there. And yes, I know that probably means a lot to him, but it the fact that it IS all I can do is what bothers me.

The one comforting thing is that underneath how much he's deteriorated, he's still himself. He still calls me "my dear beloved granddaughter", I still see some of the same facial expressions I love, he still emphasizes his words the same way he always has and he's still making sure he knows everybody's name -- he knows all the nurses and aides who come in to help him.

Sigh. He's such a sweetheart.

I hope he's doing okay tonight.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!