FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-02-28 - 8:42pm

Who's Who Cheat Sheet
Who I Read

On the internal soundtrack: Random selections from The Carpenters "Singles" compilation album.


Today, on my way out to the car on the west side of the house, I looked at the spot where I planted the snow glories -- supposedly among spring's first flowers -- and didn't see anything. Boohoo.

Then I remembered I needed to put my windowbox pansies out in the sun. They've been in the garage while it snowed and was icky out.

So I plop them in front of the three-foot-square patch on the south side of the house, and out of the corner of my eye, I see ... a green blob.

I looked. More green blobs. About 10 small green leaf blobs total, which, if I recall correctly, is the number of tulip bulbs I planted there last spring.

Wow. They are EARLY. Those are "mid-to-late spring" flowers, supposedly.

Not only that, but I think there's a hyacinth peeking up too, on the west side.

I am, of course, incredibly excited in my geeky novice gardener way. And this plus the fact that it's light at 7am nowadays is going a long way towards chasing away the winter doldrums. And in two days, February is over.

Now if I can just figure out what happened to the snow glories. Maybe I planted them too deep. I'll move the mulch around this evening and see if I find anything.


Blah. I wrote that yesterday. I don't seem to feel much like writing these couple of days.

Today I didn't feel like eating the leftovers from the weekend, so with the exception of one bowl of healthy chili, I ate cereal all day.

Kix at 9am, Great Grains at 12pm, Pop-Tart at 6:30pm, and I will eat Grape Nuts around 9pm. That's my plan.


Poindexter turns 31 on Friday. Whenever this comes up, he says in hushed, horrified tones, "I'm going to be in my thirties.

Neither of our mothers has any sympathy for him.

Our second anniversary is next Wednesday. I'm using this as an excuse to eat out someplace expensive. Preferably New American, although I could go for French or Italian too.


On Sunday I played a bunch of games with Kelsey. Sweet Pickles, Chutes and Ladders, Old Maid, and War. Good lord, kids' games are so boring. Is there a kids' Pictionary? Maybe we could play Pictionary but use separate cards for adults vs. kids.


I think we've decided on Melrose. If we can get a reservation.


I need to exercise, but I don't like going outside. I need some warm weather, bad.


Oh! I do have something to talk about!

Had a long discussion on IM with my mother this morning. They've put Pop-Pop's house on the market and are going to sell his car. That should cover him at the assisted living place as long as he'll need it. Unless he surprises us all (quite possible) and holds the cancer at bay longer than expected.

Meanwhile, after the whole discussion during my last visit about how he doesn't return his lady friend's feelings of romantic love, we get some evidence quite to the contrary.

So much so that we need a name for her. I'm beginning to think she's his girlfriend and he was afraid to admit it! How 'bout ... something old-fashioned ... Millie? That'll do.

Millie heard that my parents and Pop-Pop were going to be in her area, she invited them to lunch, along with her sister-in-law and a male friend of Pop-Pop's. The latter two declined, leaving it two couples -- my parents, and Pop-Pop and Millie. Apparently there was a lot of hand-patting during lunch, and Millie got a big hug and kiss when they were saying good-bye.

It wasn't good-bye, though, since Millie invited everyone into her house. She served everyone liqueurs, and when my parents kissed after the toast (as is their romantic little habit), Pop-Pop said, "If they can do it, so can we" and got out of his chair to go kiss Millie!

My lands. If that doesn't indicate romance, I don't know what does. He doesn't kiss ME when my parents kiss after a toast, although he kisses me quite often at other times for no reason at all.

This is just so sweet I can't stand it.

Not only that, but Pop-Pop asked my dad later if he was being "too forward". Dad assured him that he was doing just fine. I'm sure Millie loved it. Kisses from someone for whom you've professed to have feelings of love has to be a good thing.

Anyway, I suspect I'll be seeing more of Millie in the near future. I'm delighted. Maybe he was testing the waters when he brought it up back when -- waiting to see how we would take it before telling us he's got a girlfriend.


Hm. Kissing. PDAs. Are you for or against?

Me? For. I don't like public tongue -- that's getting into the realm of bedroom activities, for me -- but I love seeing pecks on the cheek, pecks on the lips, hugs, holding hands, stuff like that.

I've heard there are countries where touching in general is done only to babies. You hit a certain age and your parents stop hugging you. I'm a pretty tactile person -- if I'm sitting next to a family member on a couch, I'm leaning on them -- and I think I'd be very unhappy in such a place.


There we go. Gardening, gossip, a glimpse into my personality. That rounds out the entry nicely and now I can go for a short walk.


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!