FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-01-02 - 4:15pm

On the internal soundtrack: "American Woman", The Guess Who version.


Who's Who Cheat Sheet Who I Read

I have far more entertaining things to do than figure out how to modify my entry templates, so from now on I'll be putting two new small links at the top of every entry instead. Before you get critical of my lack of HTML skills, be happy (especially if you have tried going entry-by-entry through the archive) that I bothered to find out how to put those little "previous/index/next" links up, all by my own self. Hardly anyone at Diaryland has them, even some of the best writers with fancy templates. I wonder why? If you're a Diarylander and want me to send you the HTML code (it's ridiculously simple), just e-mail me.

The links are, as you may have guessed, entries in which I tell you who everybody is, in case I'm talking about someone and you can't remember who they are, and an entry describing the journals I read and a little bit about why.


Bleh.

I hate getting up earlier for work after a 3-day weekend of sleeping 'til 10. I feel jet lagged.


We are trying to plan a visit with MIL, Lynn, and the girls. Southwest is having their big $99 fare sale through June 8th, so we want them to come in April when Kelly has her spring break. If all goes well, they'll be here April 7-14, and MIL will fly up too.

I can't believe we only see them once a year. I wish they'd hurry up and MOVE HERE. I'm very impatient.

More on travel plans: We're going to FL in February over President's Weekend. Yay us! I desperately need to thaw out some. Also, Justin will be visiting us in March.


Well, New Year's. I'm not the year-in-review type, given my short memory, although I've been amused by everyone else's. I suppose it could be summed up as "a lot of family visits", and "too many people getting sick and/or dying".

I am pissed as all get-out that I didn't get any snow. My parents and brother, up in central NJ and Manhattan, got over foot, and I didn't see a SINGLE FLAKE. I ranted about it all weekend and am still angry. It was the perfect weekend for snow. I even bought special hot chocolate to drink.

On the Eve, we didn't do a damn thing and it was great. Since Poindexter and I find each other so vastly amusing, we had a lot of fun.

Due to an early-evening nap, I managed to stay up to see the ball drop. I was reading the captions instead of listening to the people, and since the captions were live, they were delayed, meaning that Poindexter started kissing me when they got to four. I wasn't thinking clearly about it and protested that he was cheating and kissing me early.


Lots of TV/movies this weekend.

I am simultaneously ashamed and proud to say that I love watching "Maximum Exposure", or "Max X", as they call it. I'm such a Stupid American. The cool thing, though, is that the show KNOWS they are being Stupid Americans and watching Stupid Americans do stupid things, and they revel in it. They're mullet-watchers, for one thing. They were showing videos of trains plowing into tractor trailers and it was really just too much fun.

We watched Austin Powers II and I am now madly in love with Heather Graham. Those big eyes of hers. Poindexter likes her too. He found out on Howard this morning that she's a lapsed Catholic, and feels that the Church makes women feel dirty/ashamed of their bodies and sex. Have to agree with her there. That explains her choices in movie roles and music videos, I suppose.

The odd thing is that she looks like a little girl, almost, with those big eyes and sweet face, and when she writhes around in a sexual way it looks incongruous somehow.


When I belch, which I am getting way too good at lately, Poindexter smiles fondly, pats me, and says, "My delicate wife."

It horrifies my mother, which is fun. MIL seems indifferent. Probably because Poindexter belches at her when they're on the phone. Not as loudly as he does with his sister -- he says he tempers them slightly for his mother -- but he does it, nevertheless.


I have my dermatologist appointment tomorrow. I'm paranoid about skin cancer (well, both my grandmothers had basal cell carcinoma on their noses, so I'm not being completely ridiculous), so I want to get my moles looked at and find out if there are any I need to watch or that look suspicious. Those ABCD rules that they tell you about are too vague. Every mole/freckle I've GOT is asymmetrical and oddly colored if I look too closely. Hopefully the dermatologist will give me a better idea of what's normal and what isn't.

I have a mole -- 'scuse me, "beauty mark" -- just above my upper lip, on the right. I've had it since I was a kid. I rather like it. This is one of the moles that looks weird to me up close. I hope it's okay, because I don't want to have to take it off. Not everybody has a well-placed mole like that. Cindy Crawford is famous for hers, and Gillian Anderson's is even showing up on the X-Files nowadays.


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!