FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-11-29 - 7:04 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "She Bop", Cyndi Lauper


Hello, I am not dead, I am with the in-laws, hence the lack of posts and comments. Someday I might get caught up on LJ. Might. I have managed to skim my flist but that's about it.

I, uh... hm. Well, we had the big To-Do for the Neverending Project and my boss seems to think the results were too predictable and boring to attract anyone's attention, so it might actually be over. Not that I actually believe this, but I can say that the basic project is done and there's nothing left to do but field questions. The question-fielding could get annoying, but so far I've only gotten two questions.

I painted my toenails pink.

I'm finally getting deep into Marge Piercy's Gone to Soldiers. FINALLY. The book I've been putting off since mid-summer because the Neverending Project didn't give me enough time to sit down for an entire day and read. I am loving being deeply absorbed in a new book again.

I am eating a LOT. Yay Thanksgiving. Hopefully I will regain the weight I lost because I did not eat enough in West Virginia to offset the extra physical activity of riding a dirt bike all afternoon.

Ok, that was a necessary but boring explanation of why I haven't been posting.

When I am on vacation, I like to take naps. I have to make sure I wake up after half an hour or else I will sleep for three and have that weird thing happen where I know I'm sleeping and I try to make myself wake up and open my eyes but I can't move. Sleep paralysis, I think it's called. Sometimes I think there's someone in the room with me and I'm trying to open my eyes to see them. It used to scare the bejesus out of me when this happened but now that I've read about it on the INTARNET I am calm about it, if annoyed.

(Around here we always call the internet the "the INTARNET", said loudly for emphasis. )

Anyway, I like to be woken very gently. My mom used to wake me up for school when I was little, and she always did it with a kiss on the cheek (more than one, if necessary). When I am woken up this way, unless I have not gotten enough sleep, I will smile, like a reflex almost. I am usually very happy after waking from a nap.

Any other way of waking up will startle me. Opening a shade and letting sun in all at once will startle me. The alarm clock (I have one that works like a vibrating pager) startles me. The absolute worst is if you shake me. OH MY GOD I HATE THAT. HATE, HATE, HATE. People are always getting shaken awake in the movies and I am utterly horrified by it.

I got Poindexter trained to wake me up properly. The first few times he tried it he would bump the bed or put his hands on the bed to brace himself to lean over, which resulted in me being startled and cranky. Now I make sure I sleep as close to the edge of the bed as possible so he can reach me easily. After I wake up and smile at him, he'll kiss all over my face and neck, which is SUCH A NICE WAY TO WAKE UP.

For the holiday, however, we've got a dog in the house. A small dog who gets very, very excited about sniffing about the head and ears of a person who is lying down. So the other day, Poindexter came into the bedroom to wake me up, and Vixen came tearing through the door behind him, ran in front of him, jumped on the bad and started jumping around and sniffing me madly. I would have cried except that it was so funny. Poindexter hadn't meant for this to happen, and he apologized profusely while giving me belated kisses.


Poindexter: What's this? [points to paper on his desk]
Evelynne: Your company needs you to re-designate your beneficiaries for your life insurance policy for some reason. I left it there so I'd remember to ask you if you wanted to add your mom or your sister in case...
Poindexter: In case I take you with me?

------

Someone on my friends list just posted a cute short awesome story about encountering Santa. I read it aloud to Poindexter, all gleeful, and he rolled his eyes at me. I started to sing:

Evelynne: Y'better not shout, y'better not cry...
Poindexter: [groans]
Evelynne: ...better not pout, I'm tellin' you why
Poindexter: All right, all right, that's enough [singing]
Evelynne: [mock-irritated] WHY DON'T YOU GO PUT YOUR GRINCH PANTS ON?!

(He does have a pair of Grinch pajama pants that I bought him, because his family watches the Grinch cartoon every Christmas. :)



previous index next









about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!