FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-01-31 - 2:46 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Into the Groove", Madonna


OK.

Had two last-minute meetings necessitating a quick trip to DC yesterday. Had to rush home to my sweet shut-in so I didn't have time for socializing. Highlights:

- Three black guys singing a capella at Metro Center, complete with microphones. Is there anything better than men singing harmony? If I hadn't been on my way to meetings I would have listened all day. If it were summertime, I would have brought a picnic lunch over there.

- During the second meeting, two of the clients got into a borderline argument. This was the most entertaining meeting I have ever attended. Usually I am fighting to stay awake. The best part was that the one guy was actually huffy, spent the remainder of the meeting sulking, and when it was over, he stalked off without a word. I could not believe it. It was startlingly unprofessional to me.


Then I got back and found out that Poindexter's paternal grandmother died, somewhat suddenly, although she was 91. She'd been saying for 40 years that she "wasn't long for this earth" so I assume she's happy wherever she is now. He wasn't particularly close to her so our main thing is to be there for his dad.

As if I didn't already miss them on a near-daily basis, I'm missing my grandparents again. I had the best grandparents I could ever have asked for. People who took delight in me and in everything good that happened to me. If you've got good ones still living, give 'em a kiss for me.

The funeral's Monday, so we'll be holed up in a hotel room for the Super Bowl. Mustn't forget to bring our once-a-year Super Bowl treat, Cool Ranch Doritos.


Due to the GODDAMN UNENDING FUCKING COLD WEATHER AND UNMELTED SNOW, Poindexter has been walking/public transiting all week. This means I get a reprieve and get to sleep until 8:30 or 9 in the morning and just walk down the stairs to my office. BLISS. When he comes home, though, I walk 3/4 mile to meet him and walk him home. This gives me an opportunity, as my legs, face, and hands freeze at the same time my torso nearly melts from the body heat inside my down coat, to reflect on the little mysteries of life, such as:

- HOW IN GOD'S NAME do people walk around in 25-degree weather with their heads uncovered?

- Or for that matter, how do teenagers wear little skirts? I'd be afraid my PARTS would freeze and fall off.

- (Observed on a woman at the bus stop) What vision condition is it that causes people to appear to be looking in a completely different direction than they actually are? I thought the woman was looking at me, and then realized that she wasn't, her eyes were just pointed in my direction.

The weather is starting to really get to me. It's making me sleep more, feel tired all the time (even though I am getting regular exercise), want to eat more, and be ANGRY. I'm angry that I can't keep my face warm, I'm angry that I have to wear so many clothes, I'm angry that the dirty snow won't melt, and I'm angry that the cold dissuades me from exploring the city as much as I'd like.

We have our February Thaw coming up, in which we head to warmer climes (this year, to see his parents), and it won't happen a moment too soon.


This section is very long, and contains girly talk about accessories. Boots, scarves, what have you. If the thought is making your eyes glaze over, you can bail now, and go to the bottom of the entry, where I have resuscuitated (probably only for a brief period) the gratuitous photo of the day.

Lately, when the temps are closer to freezing instead of well below, I've taken to wearing my scarf draped over my head, crossed in front, and the ends tucked in the back of my neck. My husband said I looked like Muslim, but I think the Muslims would think I look like a harlot with my hair peeking out like that.

Practical reasons aside (sometimes my hood is too hot or bulky), I do this because I've started paying more attention to accessories. I have a hard time just picking out pants and shirts that look good on me, much less fussing over accessories, but I'm trying to learn. One thing I've been noticing is how women wear their scarves. There are, like, a dozen ways to wear a scarf (depending on the length) and I never really paid attention before. The way I've chosen to wear mine is actually a style I've only seen on older women here, but I like how it looks on me, so there.

Another type of accessory I've completely ignored up until this point is bags. A lot of women tend to get really excited about bags. I can't quite get into that. I like how nifty bags look, but I get very irritated with constantly moving my stuff from one bag to another (and this is just when I switch from my black bag to my brown bag and back). I'm not sure how to deal with this. When I get the hang of the scarves, I'll think about bags. I do go out a lot these days with nothing but a wallet and some lipstick, so perhaps changing bags to complement my outfits is in my future.

Now, boots:

I was trying to find shoes to wear to the meeting yesterday. I needed boots that could deal with some snow getting me to the train station, because Philadelphia is not terribly familiar salt or plows, not to mention every 10th resident ignores the law about shoveling their sidewalks. Unfortunately, the only snow-worthy boots I have very thick fluffy uppers, and my straight-leg fancy meeting pants don't fit over them. My rain boots have little studs on them and are most unprofessional (but are my best boots EVER for walking about in Philly). My other boots are too thin and the leather is too nice to subject them to snow.

I somehow stuffed the snow boots into the pants, and I looked ridiculous (they were baggy at the knees), so I came to the conclusion that I need professional-looking snow boots. Groan. And of course, I want them in black AND brown. Fortunately, everybody's having clearance sales so I shouldn't have to pay too much for them.

Poindexter wasn't at all perturbed at the idea -- in fact, I think he suggested it when I was fretting over the snow boots. I said, "I HAVE, LIKE, FIFTY PAIRS OF BOOTS!" and he just shrugged. "I trust you," he said. "You're a miser." Yeah, a miser with fifty pairs of boots. I have:

- Black knee-high, 2" chunky heel
- Brown knee-high, 2" chunky heel
- Camel mid-calf, 4" heel?
- Brown ankle boot, 3" chunky heel
- Black ankle boot, 3" chunky heel
- Rain boots (clunky, thick sole)
- Snow boots (fluffy uppers)

OK, maybe that's not 50 pairs. Still seems like a lot, except that I wear different boots for different occasions. Ankle boots with pants, knee-high with skirts. I love boots and wear them instead of shoes all winter. I wear the rain boots every day and can walk for miles in them.

Anyway, I was fretting that I keep buying clothes and stuff while he just sits at home and buys a computer game once in a while. Then I remembered that he spends $40+ a month for cable, so he can watch hockey. That's $40 *I* would not be spending, so I figure his cable is the equivalent of my clothes. I feel much better now. Now I just need to justify all the flower purchases, although I think he considers that a home expense*.

I'm a miser, see. I need to justify purchases. I'm just getting to the point now where I will let myself spend extra money on something strictly for aesthetics. Until recently, I've been focused on the utility and price of things. But when I got that hatbox, and it made me so happy, and Camille made that comment about the value of aesthetics, I started paying more attention to that. It's hard -- my miserly side is very insistent -- but I'm learning to balance price with aesthetics, as well as longevity of things.

Right now I'm trying to pick out bathroom accessories. I can pay $50 for a well-crafted brushed pewter wastebasket, or I can pay $20 for a plain brushed-chrome one. Of course I think I should buy the pewter one -- I'll keep it for years and years -- but it's still tough.

Also on the value-of-aesthetics topic is the idea of looking nice. Being well-dressed and well groomed and a little stylish. Sometimes people pooh-pooh the idea of being fashionable, and to a point I agree -- there's more to life than having the latest Jimmy Choos. On the other hand, I really enjoy checking out what other women are wearing, looking at how they put their clothes together, how they wear their accessories, how they style and color their hair. I like looking at a woman in a smart outfit, as opposed to one wearing grubby shapeless colorless clothing. It makes my day a little more fun. So while I think I probably don't need quite as many clothes as I have, I like to think that when I take care with my appearance, other people are enjoying it too.

Or if nothing else, I'm giving people something to laugh at. ;) PLAID PANTS!

Ok, enough. I'm going to bed. I'll post this tomorrow.


Gratuitous photo of the day:

I went to two weddings last summer and got my picture taken a few times, so I have a few to show. You will be seeing a lot of me in this dress. I wear it to every fancy summer occasion I attend. Maybe it's time to get an alternate dress.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!