FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-09-19 - 5:51 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack:


Friday, September 19

So, work is now busy and my MIL arrives tomorrow, so it's been a cleaning/organizing frenzy over here. Poindexter has had a fire under him these last two weeks, triggered partly by the impending visit and partly by the nice "fall cleaning" weather. He has done a good dozen small projects around the house and it looks fantastic. They're all little subtle things, but I notice them and boy do I appreciate them.

Today I had a hankering to have tea. I went out and got myself some loose mango tea, a fresh scone at the bakery, and figured out which one of the two jars of double devon in my fridge was the more recent one. (One is about two years old, and I had made the mistake of buying a new one not knowing the old one was in there. Ugh. I looked carefully at the label, noted differences, went to the store where I bought the newer one, and looked for the differences. They were there. I am so smrat.)

Anyway. YUM. And my god, bagged tea or even canned loose tea really can't hold a candle to fresh loose tea -- I'm stunned. I didn't think I had the palate to discern, but it's not a subtle difference. The flavor is practically leaping out of the teacup.

While I was out, I saw a guy who looked like a punked-out Alan Rickman. Woo-hoo!

Edit: There are a few tree limbs down and leaves everywhere, but otherwise Hurricane Isabel has been completely uneventful for me.


I HATE CLEANING!

I HATE IT, I HATE IT, I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!

Why yes, I've reached the end of my rope. We've been cleaning and doing projects and organizing for two weeks nonstop -- all those little things we've wanted to do forever and now we have the necessary kick in the pants -- and I've HAD IT.

I told Poindexter this, and he told me he'd rather I sit in a chair and do nothing and be happy than try to help him clean.

*boggle*

Ok, I'll do that next time. He's told me this before, but I feel guilty when I'm not helping him when he goes on a tear, so I try to help, and then I get miserable, and I get into the state I'm in.

I'm gradually calming down and feeling better.

I really hate cleaning. I hate it so much. I would never do it except that I get to the point where I hate the mess more. Sigh.


A Positive Note

Ok, during all this cleaning frenzy I polished the outside of the refrigerator door. It's stainless steel or whatever that grayish metal is. It's a bottom-freezer dealie.

Just above the freezer, on the bottom of the fridge door, are two tiny handprints. :)

I didn't try very hard to get them off, so they're still there. :) They've been there for over a month and I didn't polish until last weekend.

I smile every time I see them. I love them, because they're Fuzzy Kitten[1]'s, and they remind me of what a lovely day I had when she and her family were here. :)

[1] Ike's youngest child


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!