FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-04-25 - 1:43 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Surfin' USA", The Beach Boys

Inside, outside, USA
Inside, outside, USA...

Ooo, I'm dancing in my chair!!


So, yesterday it was sunny and lovely, mid-60s, and I went up to northwestern Philly to see my cousin Stacey. I drove up in the Volkswagen with the top down just before three and sat on her porch and worked for an hour or so while I waited for her to get home from work.

Kelsey was with her dad, so she wasn't there, but we picked up Lee at daycare shortly after I got there. Lee's "Mom-Mom", as he calls her, lives in a part of Philadelphia I had never been to and would never have dreamed existed. It's right on the Schuykill, almost at the Montgomery County line, and it is BEAUTIFUL. Everyone has a modular home, some quite large, facing the river, with their backs to the train tracks. I was lucky enough to see a train come through while I was there. (I LOVE TRAINS AND TRAIN TRACKS). In front of the house is a narrow yard with all the spring bulbs in bloom, then the road, and then there's another patch of land between the road and the river where everybody has pretty tables and chairs set up to enjoy the view. The late afternoon sun had turned the water into liquid gold, and the breeze was nice, and it was warm, and it was LOVELY. I didn't want to leave.

I would be antsy living there, in the middle of nowhere, but damn, it was lovely. Maybe someday we can buy a house on a creek or river in the middle of nowhere, and ride our dirt bikes nearby.

For dinner we went to Friendly's, and we had FRONIONS! Those are ADDICTIVE. Which is why they're going to be referred to as FRONIONS!, all caps, with the exclamation point. They also, predictably, made my tummy miserable. I was up with a stomachache at 3am, as I related to Poindexter in this discussion. Apparently he had troubles in the middle of the night too, but not because of anything he ate:

Evelynne: Last night at Friendly's I had vanilla ice cream with peanut butter topping (instad of fudge or caramel)
Evelynne: It was GOOOOOOOOOOOD.
Evelynne: I was stuffed, so I could only eat about 4 bites. But there's a Friendly's nearby. I may have to go there just for that. I can get it for $2.29.
Poindexter: You have plenty of sweets at home.
Evelynne: When I run out of sweets at home, I'll go to Friendly's. We could go together, and get FRONIONS! and ice cream!
Evelynne: And then have gas ALL NIGHT!
Poindexter: Weeeee!
Evelynne: I woke up at 3am and my tummy felt gross.
Evelynne: Did I bother you?
Poindexter: No.
Poindexter: I woke up to a bird. A stupid bird.
Poindexter: It was making a racket and I felt like I needed another 3 hours of sleep and couldn't believe it was morning already.
Evelynne: LOL
Evelynne: Poor thing.
Poindexter: I got up to use the can and found out the dumb fucking bird was SINGING at 4:30 in the morning!
Evelynne: LOLLLLLLLLL
Poindexter: I had mixed feelings.

I'd told Poindexter I'd be home before it got dark. I had checked online for the sunset, which was at 7:48, so I drove home during "civil twilight", which is my favorite time of day in the summer. Sun's down, but you can still see, and there's a pink glow over everything. And I got to look at the city skyline the whole way back. It was FABULOUS. Quite a lovely evening.


In other news:

- Poindexter has taken public transit and walked home every day this week so far. Except for yesterday, I have been meeting him and walked with him. This is a guaranteed half-hour brisk walk for me every day, so that's good. I've been slacking on the regular exercise, and the errand-walking I do doesn't really cut it.

- Speaking of walking, today on the commute to work I saw an old lady (75 or older, most likely) in a purple sweatsuit, power walking along Rittenhouse Square. She was obviously stiff and possibly arthritic, but she was out there doing her damnedest anyway. I started shrieking, "YOU GO, GIRL!" She made my morning.

- Was awakened this morning in the middle of a dream that Kevin owned a coffee shop/ice cream parlor that was frequented by his libertarian/conservative blogging friends and (!) rappers. I was horrified to discover myself there wearing a strapless deep-pink ballgown with silver sparkles on it and yet my hair was wet and turbaned in a towel. I was running upstairs to try to fix my hair to look nice when Callie arrived when Poindexter opened the shade (IRL) and the sun woke me up. WEIRD. I dream about Kevin and Callie quite often, but usually it's about meeting them in the airport or at their house or something.


I am supposed to be doing the photo series "Evelynne Heats Up Some Leftover Chinese Food for Dinner". I forgot. It's been so long I couldn't even remember what I was heating up so I had to go back two entries to find out. Today's photo is titled "Evelynne Opens the Leftovers Boxes":


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!