FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-02-03 - 5:17 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Some Bob Mould song.


I STINK!!!!

*big grin*

I smell like Volkswagen exhaust. Since the weather has FINALLY warmed up, and the streets were dry, I put the top down and took my brother for a ride. Absolutely lovely. It was good for my soul.

I think that once spring is here, I'll start taking Poindexter to & from work in the Ghia now and then. Sure, the city streets are risky and there's a chance of an accident, but the other option is either to sell it or let it rot in the garage, neither of which I'm willing to do right now.


Speaking of car accidents, I got a letter in the mail today from some lawyers.

"It has been brought to our attention of this law firm that you were involved in a motor vehicle accident on 01/07/03 ... in the City of Philadelphia. Our initial investigation indicates that you were not responsible for the accident and may be legally entitled to recover for any personal injuries and property damage that you suffered when you were rearended."

[Recover what? And, "rearended"?]

Blah blah blah, "Due to the working schedules of our clients, our telephone is answered 24 hours a day. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future."

Well, crap, no wonder my auto insurance tripled when I moved to Philadelphia. I didn't get a solicitation like this when I was rear-ended in the Ghia in 1995, and I actually hurt my neck that time. Dammit. I did get a good laugh out of it, though.


Last night Poindexter and I were laying in bed doing our chatting thing before we went to sleep, and I mentioned that the pillowcases were falling apart.

He said, "You can get out the sewing machine and fix 'em right up. Rrrrrrrrrrrrr." He imitated the sewing machine with a Spanish trilled "R" at just the right pitch. He did it so well that I made him do it again two or three times and tried to watch between his teeth.

You see, I can't trill my tongue. It's a huge disappointment to me. As Poindexter put it, "That was a tongue FLAP." It just comes out like I'm saying "diddle". It's not fair. My niece has been able to trill her Rs since she was about three, if not earlier. Dammit.

I don't know if this is the kind of thing one can LEARN to do or not. My grandfather used to tell me that if I practiced, I could wiggle my ears too, which is an outright lie.


Gratuitous photo of the day:

Me and my trill-less tongue, Christmas 2001. The longer I look at this picture, the weirder it looks to me.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!