FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-07-23 - 3:37 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Theme from "Malcolm in the Middle"


Well, happy news for me. I had my follow-up appointment with the oral surgeon today.

Last night, I was upset. I went over to Poindexter, who was ironing his work shirts, and said, very forlornly, "Will you kiss me?" He gave me some lovely kisses, and then I started to cry a little. They still felt good, but not quite the same. He gave me a big hug and promised me that it would get better. He's an awfully confident man, but as usual, he was right.

My mouth will eventually open all the way again, she says. Thank heaven. A lifetime without Philly cheesesteaks, among other things, was horrible to contemplate. Not to mention I have a Cosi addiction. (There's one within walking distance of our new house, so I'm very excited about that.)

As for the numbness, she told me to close my eyes. Then she tickled my chin with a cotton swab and asked what it felt like. Then she poked me in the chin with a needle, and I said, "Ouch!" She pronounced the numb feeling due to swelling, not nerve damage, so KISSES WILL BE PERFECT AGAIN!

When the numbness wears off, Poindexter's gonna have to beat me off with a stick. "Poindexter, kiss me!" "Kiss me again!" "I'm not done kissing yet!"


TMI Alert: Reference to a sitdown (nothing graphic)

So, a couple weekends ago, we were going over to Stacey & Brent's place for lunch. The truck was in the shop, so we took the train. Unfortunately, as soon as we got to Market East, a Sitdown That Would Not Be Denied hit and we had to get off and make haste for a restroom.

Since the next train was not for an hour, we decided to take a cab. I had figured it would be maybe $20, but it turned out to be around $35. And the cab driver was absolutely horrible (accelerating and braking really hard). It was an unpleasant trip all around.

Since then, we've referred to the incident as "The Thirty-Five-Dollar Sitdown".

As I mentioned a couple entries back, Poindexter spent part of Saturday morning reading in the Convention Center, which is across the street from the DMV, and Market East is underneath it. We now refer to this area as "The Site of the Thirty-Five-Dollar Sitdown".

As far as emergency stops go, this one is quite pleasant, unlike some other places.


Speaking of Philly landmarks, there are a lot of odd statues around here of naked people.

Over on Market Street, there's a statue of a naked man and woman facing each other, arms in the air supporting the legs of two naked children (one child per adult). There's a happy family kinda vibe going on there. I noted to Poindexter that the man's got some definition in the groin area, which wigs him out. Funny how straight men are so afraid of other men's penises.

There's another statue on the way to I-95 that I've been calling "The Naked Frolickers". Check it out:

These folks are very ambiguous in the groin area -- I think they're supposed to be unisex figures -- but Poindexter says there's a "bulge" and is afraid of these also.

Technically, there's only one frolicker here, the one on the right, although I'd guess once the other three get out, they'll frolic too. I know there's some sort of break-free theme going on here, but my first reaction, just to the one out on the street, is of a person who's really happy to be naked outdoors. I can relate.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!