FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-03-17 - 9:22 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Some song with a really disturbing video, by Tool


We are HERE!

I am having SO MUCH FUN!!

I can't believe we're going to LIVE HERE for a YEAR!!

My head is an excited, jumbled mess, so I'm not even going to try to keep this entry in a logical format. I'll just blab.

Most surprising of all, perhaps, is how much I like the studio. Far from feeling cramped, it's actually just cozy. Look at all that empty space in the middle of the room -- I've been telling people there's room to play Twister:

Basically, the room feels like the rec room at our old house, where we spent most of our time, except it also has a kitchen and a bed in it.

The move itself went very smoothly. We did it ourselves, except for some help Poindexter had from Tommy to load the truck.

Poindexter was very proud of me, given how much I despise moving. I even managed to help lift the mattress and the couch, as well as the dresser. As for the rest, the thing that made it really easy was the double-decker rolling carts provided by the management. There was no carrying of boxes, only loading, rolling, and unloading. Woo! I think I nominate the wheel for mankind's greatest invention.

So, the move only took two hours, and then we've been nesting ever since and getting to know our new neighborhood. We are within a half mile of Rittenhouse Square, so we are right in the middle of EVERYTHING. It's absolutely incredible. This is everything I've always wanted in a place to live, and actually having it just blows me away. It has:

grid streets
everything within walking distance
short commute (half a block for Poindexter, two feet for me)
cool old buildings
eclectic population
close to public transportation

Today we went to get Poindexter's hair cut, watch the St. Patrick's Day Parade, eat lunch, and buy a toaster. We did it ALL ON FOOT. In a loop of less than ten blocks. It was GREAT!

Our building is full of old people. They're cute. I like having them around.

I find myself missing my grandparents a lot right now. I want to tell them about what's happening. I know they would be excited to see us so excited about what's going on.

In our house in Virginia, the kitchen is on the second floor and our bedroom was on the fourth. On Saturday mornings when we would lay in bed cuddling, we'd get hungry and have to go down two flights of stairs in a cold house to get breakfast. Here, we go two feet to the kitchen and get right back in bed. I love it.

I also love having Poindexter near me at all times. He's always right there. I don't have to wander around the house looking for him, or move my computer from one floor to the next so we can be in the same room. We're always in the same room.

Poindexter has been spending a lot of time looking out the window at the street below. Before we left, we discussed briefly whether to bring the binoculars. Decided not to. Then we see all these young lovelies down on the street and Poindexter gripes that we should have brought the binoculars.

There's a flower stand half a block away! I'm going to buy some flowers tomorrow.

I went out to take out the recyclables when Poindexter started his shower, and forgot my keys. I'm going to have to be more vigilant about keys. I ended up sitting in the hallway until he was out of the shower because he couldn't hear my knock.

While Poindexter was getting his haircut, I wandered around a bit and found a shoe store with some funky but comfortable walking shoes on sale cheap that I wanted to try, but I had to get back to meet him at the salon. It was raining after lunch, so I decided to come back the next day. But we got back to the studio and I was obsessed with the shoes, so I went back out (ten minutes door-to-door, including the elevator ride!!) and bought two pairs in the same style, one black, one brown. I'm going to be wearing these ALL the TIME now.

At lunch, Poindexter said, "I'm really beginning to rethink the suburbs thing." I said, "We'll see how we feel in six months. If I still feel like this in six months, I'm willing to give up the Volkswagen and live in a tiny place."

Poindexter just read the preceding paragraph, leading to this conversation:

Poindexter: We don't have to have a tiny place, just a garageless place.
Evelynne: A two-bedroom, one-bath condo in Rittenhouse is $300,000.
Poindexter: Really? I thought there were townhouses without garages when we looked in September that weren't too bad.
Evelynne: Well, I dunno ... damn, I shoulda got the paper. Wait, it's not too late to get the paper.
Poindexter: Well, it's nine o'clock, so you better hurry. Take your keys.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to walk HALF A BLOCK to buy the newspaper!!!!!!


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!