FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-10-19 - 10:04 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Man of Constant Sorrow", from "O Brother Where Art Thou?", which we just finished watching.


Readers who aren't on the notify list or aren't checking my Livejournal: I seem to have gotten in the habit of posting entries in twos (like right now). Make sure you check the previous entry whenever you see a new one on the index page.


Good god, this entry won't write itself. I've been looking at a blank page all day. Let's try a few photos.

This is the antiabortion wagon that I was taking pictures of on September 11th:

We had first seen it the night before, on our way to pick up some takeout. At the strip mall we saw a gentleman we believe to be the owner of the truck: a white man with a long white beard, wearing, like a shirt, a white garbage bag with "abortion is murder" written in red.

Here is me looking like complete dork, wearing my grandmother's gardening hat (and, actually, looking a lot like her, which is not to say she looked dorky), holding up my first pepper:

It tasted awful. So much for homegrown peppers.

Here are me and Lee at the candlelight vigil on the Friday after 9/11:

Notice the red Chucks, white shirt, blue jeans.


I've been feeling extremely detached, and writing is hard. I wonder, when I look back in six months or so, if I'll see that in these last few weeks of entries.

I got my new glasses. I'm not sure if I like them or not. Sigh. I'm so fickle. Well, I've got 'em, seeing as how expensive glasses are these days.

John Turturro is an extremely interesting actor. He looks like a different person every time. Hard to believe it's the same person in "Box of Moonlight", "The Big Lebowski", and now "O Brother".

Speaking of actors, I mentioned this over at the Fitzie board in our famous "crushes" topic: I've got the hots for Chow Yun-Fat. In a big way. Oh my. That mouth of his gives me the tingles. (Boy is Poindexter going to shriek at me when he reads this. ;)

Y'know what makes me NUTS!? When a TV show or movie has gorgeous female stars and geeky dorky male ones. Makes me insane. Either get some geeky dorky girls, or get me some gorgeous males. Fer godsakes. I'm told that this is how they appeal to the geeky dorky male demographic, but I'm sick of it. Same thing with the news. They've got a bunch of crusty ugly guys (well, I kinda like Bill O'Reilly, and Mom's got a longstanding thing for Peter Jennings), and then they've got Paula whatserface and the NYPD chick with the whiskey voice and big gazongas. It makes me nuts.

I have always been sort of wigged out by those big oil thingies. Remember the "Rock the Casbah" video, those oil drill things that look like big hammers, kinda, moving in the background? I've seen them on TV and in real life and have always been vaguely disturbed and fascinated by them. Well anyway, there's a new Toyota commercial out now where those things come out of the ground and walk around. Jesus God. It's like a horrible nightmare. And they're trying to sell trucks with it!

Some people have been talking about how the media and government are overreacting to the anthrax business. Well, I'm not at all surprised. They are the targets. They don't exactly have a balanced view of things.

Last night we had dinner at Rob & Rianna's. I like them a lot. I liked them right away, and the more time we spend with them, the more comfortable we get and the more fun it is.

Y'know, George Clooney doesn't do anything to his eyebrows. More sexist injustices. Either make him do his eyebrows, or start thinking unibrows are sexy on women, too.

So we are going to Tower City again tomorrow. Poindexter went shopping and found a single-burner propane thingie, so we can have real, hot food. I'm taking cajun chicken and possibly some saltimbocca. Hooray!

The temperature is going to go down to 40 at night. Good golly. Am I going to be warm enough? I'm trying to figure out if I should wear thermals or sleep naked. I've heard that two naked people is warmer than two clothed people. Anyone got the camping experience to back that up?

I am NOT GOING TO FALL OFF MY BIKE! GODDAMMIT! I AM GOING TO BE CAREFUL AND I AM NOT GOING TO FALL OFF! SHIT!


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!