FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-05-17 - 3:44 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Stairway to Heaven"


Reason #367 why toys are a waste of money for very young children:

Honestly, who needs toys when the dishwasher is so endlessly fascinating? Notice also the yogurt cups and tupperware parts scattered around. And that's our pizza tin that the kid on the right is standing on.


Having the kiddies around is fun. Their parents seemed a little freaked out that the kids were going to hurt our floor, or our couch, or something. Our living room does look kind of fancy (I'll post pics this weekend), and the carpets are off-white. But a black leather couch is relatively indestructible (drool and shit wipe off just fine), we have only soft toys in the living room, and Poindexter and I have done our own share of wall-scuffing so I'm not worried about that. We don't have a lot of breakable items within reach, either.

We were discussing how children turn a house upside-down. Bedlam. Little people wandering everywhere, all the time -- no nook or cranny left unexamined -- making weird noises and screeches of happiness (especially over the dishwasher), plus the occasional tears, and, of course, a trail of toys and tupperware left in their wake.

Apparently some people are freaked out by this, but it's old hat for me and Poindexter. Especially coming on the heels of the nieces' visit in April.


One thing that has always fascinated me about babies is that their personalities are so apparent from a very young age. At three months, Susannah was already very observant (always looking around intently) and good at entertaining herself. Brennan has always been more interested in being entertained by other people. Now that they are a year old, they're still showing these same characteristics. Brennan is a complete extrovert, who adores playing peek-a-boo and listening to nonsense talking. Susannah is still checking everything out very carefully and focusing intently on whatever she's playing with.


Speaking of babies, Stacey just IM'd me to say she's in early labor and on the way to the hospital. I think she's past the safe mark (certain number of weeks), so the kid will probably be born later today. Wheeeeeeee!

It's cool with this one -- we don't know what sex it is. They wanted to be surprised. I'm glad. Doesn't happen so often anymore.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!