FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2006-03-23 - 10:04 p.m.

3/23/06

Lately I am bubbling over with excitement over a lot of little things. Such as:

On Saturday we donated a bunch of hand-me-down furniture, clearing up a bunch of space and relieving some of the pressure of having a house in a state of flux.

Poindexter is almost finished with the bottom floor. The walls are a lovely warm caramel color that goes perfectly with the undertones of the stick-on tiles he's installing and also with the stain of our hardwood. What was once a dismal dark gray little room is now becoming a room I actually want to spend time in, even though it's going to be used primarily for storage. The room will have open space in the middle, though, enough to do small projects that require some elbow room.

In new the guest room, I have sample splotches of paint in four different shades of periwinkle. I was sad to discover that the purpley-er shades that I loved on the chips are going to be too purple for me if they cover the entire wall, but every time I look into the room I get dizzy with joy at seeing the varying shades on the wall. I really cannot believe how excited I get about colors.

Adagio Teas FINALLY (I mean, after like a YEAR or more) restocked their decaffeinated flavored black teas, so I just placed an order for my two favorites (tropics, a mango-coconut combination; and peach) plus three 2-oz samples ($2 each): blueberry, mandarin orange decaf green tea, and a type of herbal tea called rooibos.

I was visiting a friend in the hospital the other day (who is recovering nicely, yay!) and said friend was on the same floor as the maternity ward. The nurse at the front desk was kind enough to let me in so I could go take a peek at the nursery and the FRESH BABIES!!! SUPER FRESH!! They're so TINY!! One of them was sleeping soundly swaddled in blankets, another was being weighed and changed, and a third woke up and almost immediately started indignantly squalling so hard s/he was bright red and trembly. I am so horrible; I think it's extremely funny how babies cry like that, sounding like it's the end of the world when they're just hungry. I still have an instinct to want to cuddle them and make them stop -- I will not stand there and point and laugh at a crying baby -- but I still laugh at them as I hug them and give them a bottle. Plus, I would think being born and adjusting to being OUT is pretty traumatic.


So, a week or two ago, a dear anonymous benefactor was kind enough to mail me three seasons' worth of "Gilmore Girls" DVDs that said benefactor was finished watching. I decided to watch it during my daily hopping-around and stretching, rather than watching whatever was on Style network and losing my motivation during unbearably long stretches of commercials.

I was instantly ADDICTED to this show. I used to put off hopping around until the last possible minute and do the bare minimum of 10 minutes hopping before stretching, but now I'm all, "Eeee, gotta go hop around! Gilmore Girls!" And I'm exercising longer before stretching. I'm not even sure what it is about the show that I find so irresistible. It's a very good show, but it's not the best I've ever seen. I enjoy the dialogue, but that's not what draws me to it. I think that I just really like and enjoy the characters and watching them interact and seeing what they'll do next. I find the balance of strengths and faults in the characters to be surprisingly realistic for a television show.

Last night I finished "Double Date" in Season One, to give you an idea where I'm at.

I'm not sure what I think of the relationship between Lorelai and Rory. I find it a little unsettling at times -- Lorelai seems to regard Rory as a friend to a point that seems unhealthy to me. And she behaves like an adolescent sometimes (she's usually fooling around or kidding, but it's still kinda creepy). And it seems that Rory is sometimes the mother instead of the other way around. I find this really bizarre and would feel bad for Rory except that she doesn't seem to mind it.

SPOILERS AHEAD

Luke is totally hot in a funny curmudgeonly kinda way. Sookie is freaking ADORABLE, probably my favorite character on the show. Seeing her ask out Jackson, her produce guy, was delightful.

The relationship between Lorelai and her mother, Emily, is particularly interesting to me. Emily is generally portrayed as a woman with a big stick up her ass, but sometimes she does have a really good point. When Lorelai was caught kissing Mr. Medina during Parents Day at school, I was appalled at how Lorelai tried to brush it off as "Oh well, I'm human, sorry, hormones, I screwed up." That was COMPLETELY INAPPROPRIATE. It should NOT have happened. I was 100% in Emily's court on that one. Lorelai still has the impetuous personality that made her a 16-year-old mother in the first place, so I suppose it wasn't too out of character for her to do that, but I thought she should have been a lot more contrite than she was. Anyway, I like seeing them clash, because usually each side has both good and irrational arguments.

As annoying as Emily can be, those moments when we see how her husband adores her are beautiful. There was a moment when she was dressed up for a party and he said, "You look very nice tonight." And there was the bawlfest-inducing moment in the hospital when he said, "You may go first" and tenderly held her hand. I like Richard a lot, especially his developing relationship with Rory, bonding over golf and books.

END SPOILERS

And of course, I am enjoying Lorelai's clothes. Kit mentioned how much she likes Lorelai's work outfits, and I like them too. She has the same kind of fitted, streamlined style that I like, while still having a lot of fun with colors an textures.

In Double Date, for instance, she had an outfit that made me squee with its unbelievable color combination. I would never have thought to do this, but I would TOTALLY try something like this if I could wear orange that close to my face (maybe I just need some perfectly neutral opaque foundation):

(All screen caps were downloaded from the amazing screen cap collection at Opposites-are-Polar.net. If you remember a particular outfit from a particular episode, you can probably find it there.)

I couldn't believe it when I saw that she was wearing red PANTS too. She did absolutely nothing to tone down that outfit. Loved it.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!